Baby Shower Very Hungry Caterpiller Cake

Decorating By horskkj Updated 14 Jun 2010 , 1:25am by kger

horskkj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
horskkj Posted 1 Jun 2010 , 11:37pm
post #1 of 15

I am doing a baby shower cake for a baby boy. The Mother has requested something to go with her theme of Eric Carle author of "Very Hungry Caterpiller", "Brown Bear, Brown Bear what do you see" and others. She saw a cake I did before that had different colored fondant dots on the bottom tier and requested those with blue icing. I will paint them to resemble the watercolor dots that I see in the book.

I desperately need help on what else to do. My experience level is a tad above beginner. I'm not a great artist but can mold things with a pattern or something to follow. I did the fondant baby bootie on a previous cake (came out really well) so don't want to duplicate. Will it look gross to have bugs (i.e. caterpiller) on the cake? How do I make this look "babyish)? Should I try and incorporate elements from his other books? Need a focal point for the top.

The bottom tier will be 12 inch WASC yellow cake with vanilla buttercream filling(boring but MTB request) the top tier will be WASC cake with vanilla caramel latte filling.

Cake is due Friday so need to start tomorrow. Thanks for your help!

14 replies
lizabu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lizabu Posted 2 Jun 2010 , 4:16am
post #2 of 15

I have a Debbie Brown book which has a book worm cake and this came to mind as I read your post. It's the 50 easy party cakes book. You probably could figure it out from the picture but rather than a worm make it look like the hungry caterpiller
http://www.debbiebrownscakes.co.uk/50_easy_party_cakes/pages/hungry_bookworm_jpg.htm