Having Trouble With Fondant And Need Some Advice Please.

Decorating By Mikeb5554 Updated 1 Jun 2010 , 7:31am by mamawrobin

Mikeb5554 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mikeb5554 Posted 1 Jun 2010 , 1:05am
post #1 of 7

Hi! I am new to fondant work and have tried the Wilton fondant and found it fairly easy to work with, but I really don't like the taste of it. Someone recommended Satin Ice fondant and I got a tub and used it to cover a tier cake. I love the taste of this brand, but I had a terrible time getting it to adhere to the buttercream iced cake. I kept getting big air bubbles, especially in the larger layer. When I tried to smooth it out, it cracked and I had to start all over. What am I doing wrong or can someone offer a novice some advice? Thanks!!

6 replies
BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 1 Jun 2010 , 1:14am
post #2 of 7

Did you mist your buttercream with water, or apply something else, in order to help the fondant adhere? If the buttercream crusts at all, this is an important step.

If the Satin Ice is a little challenging, you can mix 1/3 Wilton w/ 2/3 Satin Ice and get the easy workability of the Wilton with the great taste of the Satin Ice. I love Satin Ice, but if it's on the soft side, I mix it with Wilton and the results are great.

HTH
Rae

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 1 Jun 2010 , 3:06am
post #3 of 7

That is why I always ice with the buttercream right before I put the fondant on - that way there is plenty of adherance (is that a word?) I never have any troubles with air bubbles. (I also never refrigerate the cakes I do either)

yummy_in_my_tummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy_in_my_tummy Posted 1 Jun 2010 , 3:27am
post #4 of 7

You can mist your buttercream with a little bit of water, or I've heard that some people will dissolve a bit of fondant in water and use that as glue. Or, I think you can use a super thin layer of corn syrup.