What Would You Charge For This Wedding Cake?

Decorating By andysprite Updated 5 Jul 2010 , 4:22am by dguerrant

arsen102506 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
arsen102506 Posted 25 Jun 2010 , 2:43am
post #61 of 82

Maybe its a quite expensive but its doesn't mean necessarily be expensive unlike a 5 feet tall cake that has a bunch of special designs.

andysprite Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
andysprite Posted 25 Jun 2010 , 5:27pm
post #62 of 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by veghed

The cake is just lovely.

I'd like to ask a question and I hope it is not out of line:

I would really like to see the line item budget that you gave to her. I am very new at this and was shocked by the cost of supplies.

Is there a way you could post that? (If it's not too personal)

No problem. This budget was before she downsized to the cake in the pic. Here's my email to her:

Sarah,
Here is a copy of the cake budget. All prices are not including tax or shipping. I used my most recent receipts to determine the supply costs. I tried to be as specific as possible so that you could see where it was all going. Please let me know if you have any questions. Like I said yesterday, I am willing to put $150 toward the cost since that is what I had anticipated spending on the cake based on the original picture you had sent.

Wedding Cake Budget

Cake ingredients: Cake mix -- 30 @ $1.18 = $35.40
    Sour cream -- 5 @ $1.97 = $9.85
    Pudding -- 15 @ .56 = $4.70
    Shortening -- 2 @ 8.62 = $17.24
    Veg. oil -- 1 gallon @ 8.97 = $8.97
    Eggs -- 8 dozen @ 1.67 = $13.36
    Powdered Sugar -- 20 @ 2.04 = 40.80
    Butter -- 10 lbs. @ 2.18 = $21.80
     SUBTOTAL $152.12

Fondant: $120 (40 lbs. of pure white fondant that will have to be ordered online)
Cake board, supports, etc.: $40 +/-
Cake pans: 18 x 3 -- $26.99 plus shipping
16 x 3 -- $22.99 plus shipping  
Misc. such as jewels, piping gel, luster dust, etc: $25  

SUBTOTAL $387.10
S/H CHARGES FOR FONDANT/PANS $47.87