Pricing For A Wedding Cake?

Decorating By Amberly_K Updated 29 May 2010 , 11:47pm by JanH

Amberly_K Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Amberly_K Posted 29 May 2010 , 3:42am
post #1 of 9

I'm an amateur baker that has about 5 years experience baking for myself and friends. I always supplied my old office with cakes for bday parties, and by word-of-mouth I got hired to do a wedding cake for a friend of an old coworker. She and her young marine fiancee are looking for something affordable, so they went with an ammy like me.

I know I can do the cake with my eyes closed- she picked my "signature" white choc cream cheese icing and red velvet, which I make about once a month. I have no idea how to price the cake though! I'm doing a square 3 tier (8-10-12) cake. To save money she's ordering flowers to decorate it with, and I'm going to do a string of pearls around each tier. She doesn't care if they're edible, so we're just using costume jewelry.

What would you charge for your time to make a cake that size (8-10-12 inch tiers), frost, deliver within half hour radius, and then help stick flowers in at site? I know how much the materials will cost already, and will add that at the end.

Thanks from a newbie!

8 replies
mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 29 May 2010 , 3:45am
post #2 of 9

There is a "sticky" in the Cake Decorating Business Forum that can help you.

sari66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sari66 Posted 29 May 2010 , 3:55am
post #3 of 9

First off welcome to CC!
Next we can't really tell you what we charge since pricing is so different across the country. What is normally suggested is figure out how much the cake is going to cost you to make, then call other bakeries in your area to see what they charge then go from there. Don't call big box stores like Walmart, Sams or the like as their prices aren't what you can match as they buy cakes in bulk.