Fondant

Decorating By LyndaJean Updated 16 Jun 2010 , 8:45pm by mamawrobin

LyndaJean Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LyndaJean Posted 27 May 2010 , 1:31pm
post #1 of 7

I am new to cake decorating and I am going to attempt to make a guitar out of fondant to be placed on my son's graduation cake. How far ahead of time can I make this, and how do I store it once it is made. Thanks!

6 replies
respectablecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
respectablecakes Posted 27 May 2010 , 2:17pm
post #2 of 7

I would say what all u gonna do just cut the fondant as a shape of the guitar? I would say think about what you want to do with it and just time it after get done just put it in the ice box and it will harden but i wont do it more then 2 day advance. I hope this helps you.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 27 May 2010 , 2:24pm
post #3 of 7

I would not put it in the refrigerator to harden. icon_confused.gif You can make it as far in advance as you need to. If it's going to be a cut out of a guitar that is going to lay flat on the cake you'll want it to stay soft. You can lay it on a wax paper lined plate/cookie sheet/etc. and cover with plastic wrap and it will stay soft. I've made fondant cut outs days in advance and used this method.

If you're going to make a guitar that is more like a figure, you just mold your guitar and leave it to dry. I mix gumpaste with my fondant when making this type of decoration so that it hardens better. I've done these type of decorations up to 2 weeks in advance and as little as 2 days in advance.

Like I said, putting it in the fridge to "harden" is NOT a good idea. As soon as it starts to warm up condensation is going to occur. That can lead to your colors bleeding and sticky fondant.

LyndaJean Posted 27 May 2010 , 2:59pm
post #4 of 7