Help I Going Buttercream Crazy

Decorating By barnes113 Updated 29 May 2010 , 9:07pm by sweettreat101

barnes113 Posted 26 May 2010 , 3:18pm
post #1 of 14

I'm new to baking and have my first cake due for 200ppl on sat, my problem is i'm in pa and it's be reallyyyyyy hot and humid lately and i the client wants buttercream no fondant at all, my question is, is there a really good buttercream recipe that crust well and also tastes good.

I saw Indydebi's recipe but it calls for Dream Whip and i have none and search everywere does anyone know any good subs, and also i see some recipes that call for flour and then some for meringue powder. icon_cry.gif

Then i dont know how it should be stored, i made it and it seems to have broken, do i have to freeze it lol i'm going buttercream crazy.

As u can see i really need help thats in advance for any advice.

13 replies
msulli10 Posted 26 May 2010 , 3:31pm
post #2 of 14

Sugarshack's buttercream is the one I use exclusively.

iamcakin Posted 26 May 2010 , 3:42pm
post #3 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by msulli10

Sugarshack's buttercream is the one I use exclusively.

Ditto - her recipe, her technique.
It holds up in Georgia heat and humidity for hours thumbs_up.gif .

barnes113 Posted 26 May 2010 , 5:10pm
post #4 of 14

does anyone have a recipe for it and what about wilton bc recipe is that any good. as far has holding up to hot temp

iamcakin Posted 26 May 2010 , 5:24pm
post #5 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnes113

does anyone have a recipe for it and what about wilton bc recipe is that any good. as far has holding up to hot temp

Sharon's recipe is in the recipe section here. I don't know about it holding up, but I think the Wilton recipe tastes terrible. You may get other opinions.