Cake Boards

Decorating By mamamade Updated 26 May 2010 , 5:12pm by mamamade

mamamade Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamamade Posted 25 May 2010 , 10:45pm
post #1 of 10

I am very new to this and was wondering about cake boards. I purchased the cardboard ones from Michaels and found them too thin. Can you purchase them thicker or do you make them yourself? I used an oblong board and thought my cake was going to fold in half..Mine are very plain..

9 replies
Mamatoboys Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mamatoboys Posted 25 May 2010 , 10:52pm
post #2 of 10

I'm interested in an answer to this too. I've used two board stacked and glued together for heavier cakes, but I was wondering if they make anything sturdier.

rltmeng Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rltmeng Posted 25 May 2010 , 11:00pm
post #3 of 10

Sugarshack has all kinds of great tips in her dvd's including using 1/2 inch foam core boards that you can get at craft stores. I have not tried them yet but they look really sturdy

travmand Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
travmand Posted 25 May 2010 , 11:06pm
post #4 of 10

I cut mine out of foam core (which I buy when it's 50% off of 1.99) . I also bought a thing to cut the foam core at Hobby Lobby for about 13 bucks..works great.

Don't ya just love You Tube?

mamamade Posted 25 May 2010 , 11:21pm
post #5 of 10

Thank you for the responses. I am going to try the foam core boards tomorrow..BTW, Youtube is my best friend...lol..I have learned so much by just watching "how to's"

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 26 May 2010 , 4:02am
post #6 of 10

I always use carboard cake circles. I use them single between tiers on my tiered cakes and for my cake base I tape 3 or 4 of them together and cover with whatever kind of paper, fabric or material that I'm using, then add a ribbon around that.