Questions About Mmf???? Help!!!!!

Decorating By YOUnique_Cakes Updated 27 May 2010 , 3:57pm by chillrr1

YOUnique_Cakes Posted 25 May 2010 , 4:56pm
post #1 of 6

I'm new to cake decorating and am no where near any supply stores. I have only made my own fondant, it's not only convenient but better tasting in my opinion but I have also had my fair share of problems. I live in high altitude (7500ft) very dry climate and I have problems with it drying out and falling apart if i let it sit to long. Most MMF recipes suggest letting it sit for a few hours to over night but I have to use mine right after I make it or it wont work. I also have a major problem with my store bought sugar paste drying and cracking on the edges...even with shortening. I have tried adding extra shortening to both and sometime it does okay but I want to perfect it. I don't wanna have to buy pre-packaged fondant.HELP!!!! I know there is someone out there that has that knowledge or has been through the same thing in a dry climate! Please help me!! icon_cry.gificon_cry.gif

5 replies
BeanCountingBaker Posted 25 May 2010 , 5:31pm
post #2 of 6

I have been working more and more with MMF. I have learned a few things that might be helpful to you. I'm certainly no expert, but I am willing to share.

* Use only enough powder sugar to get to the point that the MMF is no longer sticky to the touch and is evenly combined and smooth. I pour something between 2/3 and 3/4 of the 2lb bag out on the counter then dump the melted marshmallows on top. If you've added too much powdered sugar you can add a few drops of water to reverse the process. I'm also a big fan of the microwave to help make MMF easier to work with. I warm all my fondant for a few seconds, even very small pieces when I'm making decorations.