Need A Witty Response

Lounge By bethasd Updated 1 Jun 2010 , 1:26pm by Shelle_75

bethasd Posted 25 May 2010 , 1:28pm
post #1 of 22

I had posted on my facebook that I was making a cake with 5 doz. eggs and 7 lbs. of butter to which one of my friends responded, "Doesn't that gross you out?" Well, of course it doesn't gross me out...duh...I'm a baker. Anyway, my friend is about 5'10" and in my mind way too skinny. Her kids eat frozen pesto pops instead of ice cream. So what bothers me is this is the second time she's said it, like baking is gross or something. I need a clever little response to have in my back pocket for the next time she throws this out there. Any ideas?

21 replies
Texas_Rose Posted 25 May 2010 , 1:32pm
post #2 of 22

I wouldn't list the amount of ingredients that you're using anymore...just "Working on a lovely 4 tier cake for this weekend," or "The house (or shop) smells lovely...baking a vanilla (or whatever) cake for a wedding." People who don't bake are often horrified by the amount of butter or sugar that a big cake takes, not realizing that it's going to be divided among 100 or more servings.

TexasSugar Posted 25 May 2010 , 1:49pm
post #3 of 22

I wouldn't bother replying, personally. Why let people get to you? She has the right to think what she wants about certain foods.

If you do feel the need to reply, then I wouldn't take a dig at her, I would just simply say "well a cake that is X number of tiers tall and serves XYZ people takes alot of ingredeints".

emrldsky Posted 25 May 2010 , 2:08pm
post #4 of 22

See, I have enough immature moments that I might have responded with, "What's gross about it? Sometimes, I even take a stick of butter, dip it in sugar and eat it!"

Not that you do, but if she's grossed out about it, I'd make it even worse for her. icon_wink.gif

Kind of like a little boy chasing someone with a gross insect. icon_biggrin.gif