Best Books???

Decorating By southernswthrt Updated 25 May 2010 , 8:25pm by ninatat

southernswthrt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
southernswthrt Posted 25 May 2010 , 1:36am
post #1 of 9

I'm new to cake decorating; I've only taken the first 2 Wilton classes so far. I would like to invest in some good cake decorating books. Does anyone out there have any suggestions? Looking for books with great recipes, ideas, and instructions.

TIA

8 replies
noahsmummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
noahsmummy Posted 25 May 2010 , 1:54am
post #2 of 9

ive flicked througha few at the bookstore, planet cakes looks pretty good, there was also another that i cant remeber the name of.. helpfull i know.. =/

interested to see others responses though. i need to build a library too..

LuvLyrics Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LuvLyrics Posted 25 May 2010 , 2:03am
post #3 of 9

If you want to learn cake decorating from beginning to end get The Professional cake decorator by Tobba Garette, you'll find it on sale at www.jessicabisquits.com, Each leasson build on the previews one, and the first Chapter starts with piping techniques. Many other books are great for ideas, but you need to master the techniques first... I am going through it now b/c I have so much to learn. HTH

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 25 May 2010 , 2:21am
post #4 of 9

If you are Wilton trained, I recommend anything by Peggy Porschen. Mich Turner has great books too that will help. After that just go to Barnes and Noble and start looking. Everyone has such radically different taste it's hard to say what will appeal. Peggy Porschen's books are an easy jump from the Wilton style of decorating and her work has that "I can do that" appeal to it.

LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 25 May 2010 , 12:34pm
post #5 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuvLyrics