Fondant, Fondant, Fondant

Decorating By Melissa_B_Cakes Updated 24 May 2010 , 6:35pm by Melissa_B_Cakes

Melissa_B_Cakes Posted 24 May 2010 , 3:21pm
post #1 of 13

I have been making cakes for alittle over 3 years. I have always loved Satin Ice Fondant. But recently, I have been having trouble with it.

When I cover a square cake, the corners of the cake start to sag down, looking more like a 'rainbow' instead of a nice square. My cake recipes are sour cream based and hold up pretty well with buttercream icing. I have also noticed the fondant will start to ripple on the sides...

So I have two questions...

1. Is refrigerating the cake prior to covering with fondant ok? I mean I know its all about what you prefer...but I'm curious to hear everyone's opinion on what works and what doesn't....

2. How can I get rid of all the ripples and buldges on the sides of the cake? I notice the buldges are where the cake meets the next cake, so bascially where the layers are stacked.

I usually roll out the fondant about a 1/4 in thick and I'm think the reason it buldges out it maybe I'm rolling out the sides more thin than the actual top of the cake?

Any tips or tricks to help me out PLEASE! and thank you! icon_smile.gif

12 replies
tiggy2 Posted 24 May 2010 , 3:28pm
post #2 of 13

If it's bulging on the sides it's probably because you didn't let it settle long enough after filling it before crumb coating and applying fondant. Refrigerating will not take the place of letting the cake settle for seeral hours.

metria Posted 24 May 2010 , 3:32pm
post #3 of 13

coating your cake with cake spackle or ganache might help for stability and reducing the bulge.

mamawrobin Posted 24 May 2010 , 3:36pm
post #4 of 13

I agree with tiggy2. It sounds like you're not allowing your cake to settle BEFORE crumb coating and applying fondant. Cake settles. It's important to let it do this before moving to the next step.