Wedding Cake Batter - From Box?

Decorating By nielsen4897 Updated 23 May 2010 , 1:02pm by Mama_Mias_Cakes

nielsen4897 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nielsen4897 Posted 23 May 2010 , 1:12am
post #1 of 12

OK - I am making a wedding cake for my friend and I am not a professional. In the past when I make cakes from scratch they are more pound cake-like. I was thinking about using a box mix for this cake and adding a little flour so it can be stacked. What does everyone suggest is the best boxed brand?

11 replies
Geechigirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Geechigirl Posted 23 May 2010 , 1:21am
post #2 of 12

I always use Duncan Hines as a base and add things to it. I do not follow the directions on the back of the box. I have tried Duncan Hines, Betty Crocker and Pillsbury and I like Duncan Hines the best.

If you are going to do vanilla, I recommend using the White mix and not the yellow.

tracey1970 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracey1970 Posted 23 May 2010 , 1:36am
post #3 of 12

If you are wanting a doctored box mix that is perfect for a stacking or fondant covered cake, you might try the White Almond Sour Cream cake (recipe on here under recipes). It`s VERY moist and sturdy. My family isn`t big on almond flavouring, so I just double the vanilla and keep everything else the same. Makes a great wedding cake!

Tellis12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tellis12 Posted 23 May 2010 , 2:19am
post #4 of 12

I always go with Duncan Hines if I'm using a box but I also always doctor it. I always feel like the basic box is a little too light. But, I'm definitely not bashing using a box. My favorite recipe for a doctored mix is the one Tracey mentioned, the White Almond Sour Cream. I think Duncan Hines is the best mix. It has the best taste and has always been reliable.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 23 May 2010 , 2:26am
post #5 of 12

I agree, WASC is the best doctored mix recipe that I've tried.