Bes Fondant From Dawn Foods...anyone Ever Use?

Decorating By kittyskakes Updated 21 May 2010 , 11:47pm by Kiddiekakes

kittyskakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kittyskakes Posted 21 May 2010 , 10:46pm
post #1 of 8

I am new to using fondant and trying to find one that not only tastes good but is a good price. I see a lot of people use Satin Ice. I have a bakery wholesaler about 15 minutes away from my house and they have 50# of Bes-Fond Fondunt from Dawn Foods for $35.50. I wanted to see if anyone has ever used this and if so what does it taste like/how is it to use?

Thank you SOOO much in advance!

7 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 21 May 2010 , 10:48pm
post #2 of 8

I get a lot of my supplies from Dawn. My rep said that wasn't rolled fondant. It's more like poured fondant or fondant for candy, I can't remember which.

kittyskakes Posted 21 May 2010 , 10:54pm
post #3 of 8

Ok thanks much. I know the order for says it comes in a box so not sure lol. I never worked with poured fondant.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 21 May 2010 , 11:04pm
post #4 of 8

hmmm, maybe you should call them and ask specifically if it's *rolled* fondant. It would be a great price if it is!!

cakecraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakecraft Posted 21 May 2010 , 11:11pm
post #5 of 8

I agree with leah_s, I don't think that is rolled fondant. The fondant I just got from Dawn has "Decorice (White Sugar Paste)" on the label. It's in a 5 kg (11 lb) pail.

kittyskakes Posted 21 May 2010 , 11:16pm
post #6 of 8

Yeah I'll have to give them a call on Monday. I also thought what a great price especially if it tastes good. How was the fondant you got from Dawn? Did it taste good?

WelshCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
WelshCakes Posted 21 May 2010 , 11:34pm
post #7 of 8

Make your own MMF (Marshmallow Fondant)! It tastes better and costs WAY less! Just look up MMF in the recipes search. So good!