Blow Outs!!!!

Decorating By Jennerlynner Updated 21 May 2010 , 3:33pm by Jennerlynner

Jennerlynner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jennerlynner Posted 20 May 2010 , 7:39pm
post #1 of 5

I have been a hobby baker for about 2 1/2 years. No training, just figuring it out as I go. I have improved many of my basic skills and usually get a clean product if I don't rush it to much.

But no matter what I try (different frosting and cake recipies, different techniques for mixing and appling BC and Fondant) at least half of my cakes get a blow out. It happens many hours after it is decorated, everything was good then I notice a large bubble usually on the side of my cake (occasionally on the top). I have them under fondant and buttercream. I let the air out, seal the hole, and smooth as best I can, but they seem to continue coming out and not always in the same place.

I enjoy caking it is my creative outlit and hope to someday go pro. But I can not ever see that happening with mysterious bulges developing all the time.

Any help would be appreciated. Also I live in hot and humid Florida and have heard mentioned that this might be a factor. If so, how can I combat that?
Thank You icon_sad.gif

4 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 20 May 2010 , 7:53pm
post #2 of 5

Are you letting your cake settle? If not I recommend this thread. It's mostly about the bulge, but It seems to help with bubbles also.

malakainrop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
malakainrop Posted 20 May 2010 , 9:12pm
post #3 of 5

I have had this happen when I have had the cake in the fridge - I think it has a lot to do with the 'difference' in temperature as I've heard many people say they refrigerate all their cakes without a problem.

Hot & Humid here too - I've taken a cake out and thought I had given it sufficient time to reach room temp - BUT the fondant blow-out told me differently ( the inside must still have been COLD)

metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile