Ice Cream Cake?

Baking By YummyChoo Updated 31 May 2010 , 3:01pm by sweetlybaked

YummyChoo Posted 20 May 2010 , 11:47am
post #1 of 11

Anyone know how to make an ice cream cake?
Ive had an enquiry for one!

10 replies
debster Posted 20 May 2010 , 11:51am
post #2 of 11

Watching this with ya.......................

ramie7224 Posted 20 May 2010 , 12:01pm
post #3 of 11

I'm not a professional, so I'm not sure this is the BEST way, but... I'm pretty sure you soften your ice cream (think soft serve consistency) so that you can use it to fill your layers, then you can crumb coat, re-freeze, and then do the final frosting and freeze again. I'd let the cake sit out a bit before you serve it just to let the cake soften back up a bit. The ice cream should stay pretty frozen in the middle. Hopefully someone with a little more experience will confirm or tell you the "right" way. icon_smile.gif

noahsmummy Posted 20 May 2010 , 12:23pm
post #4 of 11

yup; my mums fiance is a pastry chef and made me one for one of my birthdays.. i watched him make it. icon_wink.gif

let the icecream soften, down to a consistency that is mixable and mix it up like batter, you can stir in lollies/chocolate at this point too.. you betcha i put lots of those in.. lol.

then put it in a lined tin (waxed paper) and back into the feezer to set. depending how big depends how long...

and thats it! we just did a chocolate wrap around my cake, so im not sure how you would go about decorating with b/c or fondant.. although i am thinking fondant wouldnt turn out to great when factoring in condensation.. b/c should be ohk i should imagine.. after all, we use it for frozen b/c transfers. good luck!

adonisthegreek1 Posted 20 May 2010 , 12:30pm
post #5 of 11