How In The World Did They Do This?!

Decorating By TheCakeMovers Updated 1 Jun 2010 , 2:34pm by 7yyrt

TheCakeMovers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheCakeMovers Posted 19 May 2010 , 3:38am
post #1 of 11

Hello all!

This is my first time posting here, and I think that this is the right place to do so! I've attached an image of a cake in which I have no idea what the brown strips are on the panels. I'm leaning a little to drizzled chocolate only because the flowers seem to be in chocolate as well, but I'm not sure you'd get this clean of a look from that! I don't think it's airbrushed, but I imagine it's possible it was handpainted. Could this have been handpainted with chocolate?

Thanks a lot everyone!
Courtney and Matt
LL

10 replies
2txmedics Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2txmedics Posted 19 May 2010 , 3:45am
post #2 of 11

Ok, Im like a NEWBIE when it comes to cakes, but could it be that.....

they took a strip as you would choc. strips, painted on the dark choc....let it dry...and then go over that with another coat of white choc???...when it dries they just peel it off the strip, or cut it off to place on the cake in certain areas?....

Just a wild guess....

dalis4joe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dalis4joe Posted 19 May 2010 , 3:51am
post #3 of 11

it's called a chocolate transfer.... they put the chocolate strips on acetate.... let it dry... then pour the white chocolate over it.... and when u remove the acetate.... you have white chocolate with chocolate strips.....

hth

mpetty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mpetty Posted 19 May 2010 , 3:54am
post #4 of 11

How would you achieve the panels?

dm321 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dm321 Posted 19 May 2010 , 3:54am
post #5 of 11

wow - that cake is really beautiful. Where did you find it?

thanks,
diem

TheCakeMovers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheCakeMovers Posted 19 May 2010 , 4:16am
post #6 of 11