How Do I Create A Doctored Red Velvet Cake.....

Baking By diamondsmom Updated 18 May 2010 , 7:09pm by diamondsmom

diamondsmom Posted 18 May 2010 , 5:47pm
post #1 of 14

Hi CC Family,

I just got an order for a red velvet cake for a baby shower on Thursday. I've never done a red velvet before, and I've always used the WASC cake version for all my cakes (YUMMY). what kind of cake mix can i use to pull this off?

The red velvet cake mix itself is kinda hard to find at the supermarkets....was thinking a chocolate cake with food coloring, don't know how that would turn out.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

13 replies
melmar02 Posted 18 May 2010 , 5:54pm
post #2 of 14

If you can't find a red velvet mix to doctor, try adding about 3 Tbls cocoa powder and 1oz red color to your white WASC. thumbs_up.gif

diamondsmom Posted 18 May 2010 , 5:57pm
post #3 of 14

Thanks.....I definitely can't find red u think i can use German Chocolate with the food coloring?

melmar02 Posted 18 May 2010 , 6:05pm
post #4 of 14

I think using a chocolate mix of any kind would be way too dark for the red to show up. I just made a scratch red velvet cake this weekend and there was only a couple of Tbls of cocoa powder in it. It has chocolate in it, but I wouldn't really call a red velvet a chocolate cake. It sounds like you really want the chocolate flavor though, so if you have time, can you make a sample cake or two to compare?

newmansmom2004 Posted 18 May 2010 , 6:12pm
post #5 of 14

How about using the Martha Stewart red velvet recipe? It's very good - I've made it a few times. The thing with red velvet is that it's not really a chocolate cake and any chocolate based mix you use might not give that 'red velvet' flavor that people seem to love about it.

Just google Martha Stewart red velvet cake and you'll get links for the recipe.

carmijok Posted 18 May 2010 , 6:12pm
post #6 of 14