Frosting Convert!

Decorating By KayMc Updated 19 May 2010 , 12:47am by sugarshack

KayMc Posted 18 May 2010 , 3:29am
post #1 of 16

I have been extremely doubtful about the shortening-based buttercream recipes. I'm a newbie here on decorating, but not on baking. All of the hundreds and hundreds of cakes I've baked have always had frosting with just butter in it. The one cake I made since starting on my decorating quest was made w/ Edna's cream cheese buttercream recipe, and I thought it was pretty good.

Tonight I made Sugarshack's buttercream recipe, which is made w/ all hi ratio shortening, of course. I was very wary, but had decided I wanted to try it. I was pleasantly surprised! I did as mamarobin suggested, and I beat just the shortening for 15 minutes before adding any ingredients. It was as smooth as satin (the finished product), and the flavor was much better than I'd expected. I do wish I'd remembered to add salt to the warm liquids, but I'll do that on the next batch. This looks like it will work really well for decorating, and it has NO greasy taste or feel at all. Nice job, Sugarshack! It's a great recipe!

15 replies
mamawrobin Posted 18 May 2010 , 4:23am
post #2 of 16

thumbs_up.gif

mbark Posted 18 May 2010 , 4:31am
post #3 of 16

totally agreed! I absolutely love it as well.

Lacey7671 Posted 18 May 2010 , 4:38am
post #4 of 16

can you send me to the recipe I have seen recipes for frosting but have failed to find it with detailed instructions. I am still feeling my way around this website. Thanks ahead of time

mamawrobin Posted 18 May 2010 , 5:02am
post #5 of 16

You can find Sugarshack's Buttercream and Indydebi's Buttercream receipes in the "most saved" receipes here on cc. I use Indydebi's and it's awesome as well. Like KayMc said I beat my shortening 15 minutes before adding any other ingredients and warm my milk before adding. It isn't necessary it's just something that I do.
I always sift my powdered sugar as well.