Dark Colors Bleeding Into White Icing

Decorating By Dinglebug Updated 17 May 2010 , 8:41pm by tmac670

Dinglebug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dinglebug Posted 17 May 2010 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 12

I'm very new at this cake business and am having a great time but I have a question which I suspect has a fairly easy answer.
I'm making a sheet cake in white buttercream icing which will have a deep red and black border. How do I keep the dark colors from bleeding into the white. This cake needs to be made 2 days in advance, unfortunately.

11 replies
sandy1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sandy1 Posted 17 May 2010 , 4:06pm
post #2 of 12

Wilton recommends adding Meringue powder to the icing, 1 tablespoon per 3 cups of icing. This is suppose to help prevent the bleeding of colors. If you use a crusting buttercream it too should help.
Are you planning on refrigerating the cake??? If so it might have some condensation when you take it out. To help keep this to a minimum turn a fan on low, place it near the cake and let it blow on the icing until it comes back to room temp.

Dinglebug Posted 17 May 2010 , 5:16pm
post #3 of 12

Thank you, Sandy1, I appreciate your quick response and will definately give it a try!!

jenncowin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenncowin Posted 17 May 2010 , 5:30pm
post #4 of 12

You can also add White-White to your icing. This helps keep your color from going too far to the darkside and I've found that when I use it, I don't have a bleeding problem. I would say a Tbsn or two to a batch of icing.

jenscreativity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenscreativity Posted 17 May 2010 , 5:36pm
post #5 of 12

What's white-white? I'm sorry,,but I'm interested b/c I add meringue powder to all my icings and it still bleeds..so I'd like to try the white-white instead if you can lead me to what that looks like please..thanks!

Dinglebug Posted 17 May 2010 , 5:43pm
post #6 of 12