A Dumb Question

Decorating By MommaDukes Updated 27 May 2010 , 6:22pm by superwawa

MommaDukes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MommaDukes Posted 17 May 2010 , 12:20am
post #1 of 18

I am new to cake decorating and I have a dumb question, when you do a tier cake, do you take the cake board off the 2nd or 3rd layer prior on top of the other cake.
thanks,
Pat

17 replies
newmansmom2004 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
newmansmom2004 Posted 17 May 2010 , 12:46am
post #2 of 18

Yes, leave the cardboard round under the cakes. You dowel each tier (except the very top layer) and each tier has a cardboard round underneath it, otherwise the cake might sink into the layer(s) below.

No question is dumb! thumbs_up.gif

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 17 May 2010 , 2:15am
post #3 of 18

The cake board in conjunction with the dowels is what supports the cake. If you removed the cake board, the cake would still sink in to the cake below it.

MommaDukes Posted 17 May 2010 , 10:53am
post #4 of 18

Thanks yall, I thought you left it in there but my daughter was telling me I couldn't do that..
Thanks again,
I love this site and I am learning so much.

Pat

debster Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debster Posted 17 May 2010 , 11:29am
post #5 of 18

I agree no dumb questions...................If the board wasn't left in the dowels would dig into the cakes that were placed on top. Those boards do the work of keeping the dowels from punching through to the next layer. That's how we all learned from asking!!!! You should of heard the laughs I got when they said mix luster dust with alchohol and I thought it was rubbing alchohol instead of vodka. So no you question wasn't dumb.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 17 May 2010 , 11:55am
post #6 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by MommaDukes

Thanks yall, I thought you left it in there but my daughter was telling me I couldn't do that..
Thanks again,