Today's Finish Products - Constructive Criticism Please!

Decorating By percussiongrrl Updated 16 May 2010 , 7:13pm by mbark

percussiongrrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
percussiongrrl Posted 15 May 2010 , 7:36pm
post #1 of 19

I finished off 2 cakes today, a HUGE accomplishment for me to do two at once!

The first cake is my Sis and BIL's graduation cake. They graduate from Purdue today.

It is a 10" WASC with IndyDebi Buttercream and MFF accents

The second is my niece's birthday cake. Her party is tomorrow.

Bottom 10" teir is WASC made with Strawberry mixes instead of white, Top 6" tier is WASC. Again, it's IndyDebi Buttercream and MFF accents. The "Kitties" were cut by hand, as were the flowers. The bows on the kitties are hand made and painted with tinted piping gel. I cheated and used cookie cutters on her name and the number 4.

I'm only a hobby baker, but would you think these are "good enough" for parties, etc? Also, b/c someone will as (they ALWAYS do)....what would these kind of cakes cost from a "real" cake artist. (Then they will proceed to tell me that no one would ever pay that for a cake....etc)

Also - LOVE LOVE LOVE IndyDebi's buttercream (crisco based) and the MFF. I changed up my usual recipes for these two cakes and I think they will become my new "regulars"
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL

18 replies
percussiongrrl Posted 15 May 2010 , 7:38pm
post #2 of 19

Ok, apparently my pictures aren't working icon_sad.gif I'll post them to my gallery pictures!

Ivy383 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ivy383 Posted 15 May 2010 , 7:39pm
post #3 of 19

I can't see the pictures... CC has been having problems with uploading photos. icon_sad.gif

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 15 May 2010 , 7:40pm
post #4 of 19

Can you just add them to your gallery? I can't open the ones that you posted here.

EDIT: Never mind. I just now saw that there are some technical difficulties with uploading photos. Maybe they'll have it fixed soon.