Cake Disasters

Decorating By SugarTime09 Updated 27 May 2010 , 2:17pm by SugarTime09

SugarTime09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarTime09 Posted 15 May 2010 , 7:38am
post #1 of 7

Okay so there has been a few I'm still learning...so 1 I was throwing my in laws a birthday party so I had this great idea since it was a bar b que I would make a ice chest with the sugar bottles. Sounds simple no carving mold for bottle came ..It was WASC and I tried to tort for the 1st time...(I think I may have put to much filling) strawberry and bulvarin cream.anyhow I filled and frosted with bc and paced in freezer,rolled out my red fondant laid it on (ohwait) I forgot to mention in the meantime made sugar bottles again 1st timer and while I was trying to get the sugar to completely coat the entire mold (with no gloves) it dripped out and burnt the crap out of my ring finger I flung the mold in the air sugar HOT sugar went flying getting me again in the arm Thank God I was right by the sink! I put on a bandaid and my oveglove and successfully made 4 sugar bottles and ice a couple corona,budwiser
Back to the cake so after placing the ice and bottles on the cake (wasn't expecting the extra weight) and the sides started to give way to the pressure.it was bulging I put it in the frig and was so discouraged and actually was like forget it I just won't show it I will just serve it. My husband said "So your just going to give up? Why don't u just re do it?"
That coming from a contractor who swears he can whip up a cake..pfft.I was not going to take that lying down...lol
So I baked the cakes over filled ,frosted,covered,and arranged the new ice and bottles on the cake I was so pleased with the end cake and grateful for his push so to speak to suck it up and push forward ...won't tell him that though lol...hope you get a laugh out of this because it was So Not funny while it was happening but hilarious now.

6 replies
DamarisC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile