Help! Making A Small Wedding Cake For My Friend Tips Plz.

Decorating By kawaiixoxo Updated 16 May 2010 , 2:09am by kawaiixoxo

kawaiixoxo Posted 15 May 2010 , 2:03am
post #1 of 5

I'm making a small wedding cake for my friend, it's my first time ever doing a cake for a wedding, I would like all the help I can get and many thanks in advance. It is an outdoor wedding so the cake will be covered in fondant. It's going to have 3 tiers, 2 chocolate, and 1 vanilla. Or it might be 2 tiers 10in and a 6in. It needs to feed at least 40 people.

The cake will look like this except round. Found this image on google.
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3274/2452003158_4b9e5078e2.jpg

I also have a few questions:

When should I make the cake?

When should I take the cake out of the refrigerator before the wedding?

Do I have to cover the cake in buttercream before I put the fondant over it? She (the bride) wants chocolate frosting on chocolate cake.

I want to make gum paste roses and put them on the cake, but I've heard it might "melt" the fondant. If so how do I prevent the "melting" from happening?

Gosh, I had so many questions and forgot them...shucks.

4 replies
Bunsen Posted 15 May 2010 , 2:31am
post #2 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by kawaiixoxo

I'm making a small wedding cake for my friend, it's my first time ever doing a cake for a wedding, I would like all the help I can get and many thanks in advance. It is an outdoor wedding so the cake will be covered in fondant. It's going to have 3 tiers, 2 chocolate, and 1 vanilla. Or it might be 2 tiers 10in and a 6in. It needs to feed at least 40 people.

The cake will look like this except round. Found this image on google.
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3274/2452003158_4b9e5078e2.jpg

I also have a few questions:

When should I make the cake? Depends on what recipe you are using

When should I take the cake out of the refrigerator before the wedding? Again depending on the recipe you may not need to refrigerate at all