Cake Problems...

Baking By tabtab128 Updated 15 May 2010 , 4:01am by noahsmummy

tabtab128 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tabtab128 Posted 14 May 2010 , 4:28pm
post #1 of 25

Hello all!

I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the correct place but...I was just wondering if anyone had a fool proof cake recipe? I've gone through a whole bag of flour (the 5 pound ones) yesterday and my cakes aren't turning out right! The cakes are either as hard as a rock or they just break apart when I pick it up! oh! and I had one that had this hard looking crust at the bottom of the cake (where the batter was sitting in the pan).

(you can probably tell that I'm a total newbie with baking icon_razz.gif )

thanks in advance!

24 replies
ilovemylittleone Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ilovemylittleone Posted 14 May 2010 , 7:06pm
post #2 of 25

I'm a total fan of box mixes. Try searching for doctored cake mixes, which start with a box. They seem to have much better results.

Karen421 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karen421 Posted 14 May 2010 , 11:05pm
post #3 of 25

What kind of flour are you using? Is your baking powder fresh? The doctored recipes that start with a box mix are really good!

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 14 May 2010 , 11:07pm
post #4 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovemylittleone

I'm a total fan of box mixes. Try searching for doctored cake mixes, which start with a box. They seem to have much better results.

ditto thumbs_up.gif

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 14 May 2010 , 11:19pm
post #5 of 25

How about posting a recipe you used and let us look it over.

Kibosh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kibosh Posted 14 May 2010 , 11:31pm
post #6 of 25
Quote:
Quote: