New To Cake Decorating, With A Couple Of Questions...

Decorating By sessac81 Updated 12 May 2010 , 3:22pm by jhay

sessac81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sessac81 Posted 12 May 2010 , 4:03am
post #1 of 12

Hi, guys and gals icon_smile.gif. I am new to cake decorating and I've got a couple of questions. I hope the questions don't sound too stupid icon_redface.gif

First, why do stacked cakes have to have dowels in them? Do the stacked layers have to have a cardboard piece under them? If so, how does one cut the cake?

I had another question, but I can't think of it right now... icon_redface.gif

This is my first post, BTW icon_smile.gif. I have been reading over the forums, and you all are a very talented group of decoraters!

Thanks in advance for your help!

Vanessa

11 replies
erikamj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
erikamj Posted 12 May 2010 , 4:12am
post #2 of 12

Dont worry there are no stupid questions. We were all new at one time or another.
The dowels are used to give the lower cakes more support so they dont get crushed under the weight of the higher tiers. Depending on the cake I will put a cake board under each layer. For cutting you can either separate the layers and then cut or just cut them all stacked starting from the top tier.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 12 May 2010 , 4:20am
post #3 of 12

Welcome to cc first of all. icon_smile.gif To answer your question the dowels (supports) and cakeboards are to support your cakes. Cake doesn't support cake. It will collaspse on you. Yes you need to put the cardboard (cakeboard) under each tier or the dowels (supports) would rip thru your cake.