Should I Tell Customers I'm "new"

Business By yummy_in_my_tummy Updated 10 May 2010 , 7:40pm by Kitagrl

yummy_in_my_tummy Posted 10 May 2010 , 2:30am
post #1 of 15

I'm fairly new to cake decorating but I have a lot of people that are ordering cakes from me.

Should I tell people that I'm an amatuer, or should I let them be the judge when they look at my cakes?

I'm afraid that someone will expect a super professional cake when that's not my skill level, but on the other hand, I don't want anyone to feel that I charge "too much" for being a beginner (even though I don't think I do)

14 replies
Jenn2179 Posted 10 May 2010 , 2:38am
post #2 of 15

I see you live in Cali, are you licensed and insured. In CA I am pretty sure you can't bake out of your house.

indydebi Posted 10 May 2010 , 2:41am
post #3 of 15

I see it as an asset. If they love your cakes and ask how long you've been doing this, you tell them and then they can be amazed at how talented you are in such a short time!

I've also never seen a chart that indicates you're only "allowed" to charge so much if you've been doing this 1-2 years or a little more if 3-5 years, etc. You sell your cakes for what they are worth and for what the market will bear, which has "not much" to do with how long you've been doing them.

1234me Posted 10 May 2010 , 2:31pm
post #4 of 15

Would they be ordering a cke if they had not seen your work? I personally wouldn't. If they have seen your work, and still order, they should know what they are getting! There are some people in this business who have been doing it for 30 years and there work looks completely different than mine, which I have only done this for 4 years. Customers choose mine over the competition because they want the style of cake I make, not the years of time I have been doing it! icon_smile.gif

cakes47 Posted 10 May 2010 , 2:57pm
post #5 of 15

If a lot of people are asking you to do cakes for them, then I'm sure they know your