When To Ask For Your Money

Decorating By Rethy Updated 1 Jun 2010 , 5:28pm by tirby

Rethy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rethy Posted 10 May 2010 , 2:26am
post #1 of 15

My question is this- when you price a cake to someone, do you get your money before the cake is made or upon delivery. I have a person I did a cake for and they gave me partial payment, but I haven't seen the rest of the money. I am afraid I am not going to get it. It is a young couple who are friends of the family. I don't want this to happen again. What should I do. How do you handle the exchange of money? I am sure they want to pay for it on delivery, but I think we should be gauranteed some sort of money ahead of time so that we don't lose out if they a. cancel, b. just does not pay. I am new to this so I really don't know how to do this with proper etiquette. Help!

14 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 10 May 2010 , 2:42am
post #2 of 15

what did you tell them about final payment?
(you DID mention it, didn't you?)

Melvira Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melvira Posted 10 May 2010 , 2:46am
post #3 of 15

My basic rule of thumb, and this is pretty relaxed because I live in a small town... if it's just a simple sheet cake or small cake I take payment on delivery. If it's expensive such as a wedding, I prefer it paid in advance. Not sure what my exact $ cutoff would be between the two.

cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesdivine Posted 10 May 2010 , 2:47am
post #4 of 15

There is a similar thread on this right now. But, here goes.

Any cake that is under $399 must be paid for in full when order is placed. Cakes over that are $300 or 50% which ever is more non refundable deposit at time of order with balance due 2 weeks before event date. Also I do not accept checks. Cash or Credit card only.