When Do I Use..

Decorating By KayMc Updated 10 May 2010 , 2:34pm by TexasSugar

KayMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KayMc Posted 9 May 2010 , 6:29pm
post #1 of 9

Can someone explain to me when I would make flowers out of royal icing and when I would use gum paste to make flowers? I'm reading the Wilton course books, and they tell you to use the RI sometimes and gumpaste sometimes. I don't know when I should use what. I'm a brand new newbie (one cake under my belt). Thanks.

8 replies
Mama_Mias_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mama_Mias_Cakes Posted 9 May 2010 , 6:31pm
post #2 of 9

For me it depends on the flower I want to make. If I want to make pansies and mum then I would use RI. For calla lilies, it's gum paste then.

KayMc Posted 9 May 2010 , 8:41pm
post #3 of 9

But, I don't understand what is different about each one. Is one better because it dries faster, or is stiffer? Is it just a flavor difference? A texture difference?

Rose_N_Crantz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rose_N_Crantz Posted 9 May 2010 , 10:09pm
post #4 of 9

Gumpaste is like a dough you roll out, RI is like bc, but firmer.

If you need to make flowers that have thin delicate petals, I would go with gumpaste. If they don't need to be delicate then RI is a good way to go.

Also depends on how you prefer to work. I don't like piping everything, it hurts my hands, so if i can do fondant or gumpaste, I will because it's easier to roll it out than to pipe RI.

KayMc Posted 9 May 2010 , 11:54pm
post #5 of 9

I have made flowers with gumpaste, but I don't understand how you make flowers with RI. Is it like the buttercream in that you make flowers out of in the piping bag? If so, what is the advantage of using RI piping for flowers instead of buttercream? Sorry I"m not getting this. icon_cry.gif

MaryAnnPriest Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MaryAnnPriest Posted 10 May 2010 , 12:21am
post #6 of 9