Looking For Some Advice....

Decorating By LittleFox09 Updated 8 May 2010 , 6:53pm by Occther

LittleFox09 Posted 8 May 2010 , 2:22pm
post #1 of 12

Hello all. I am new to the cake decorating world and could use some advice. Currently I am looking at purchasing a stand mixer. However, I have seen different opinions on them. What do you like/dislike about your stand mixer? Would you buy the same one again or a different one? What suspplies are MUST haves in your opinion? Also, what are your favorite websites to purchase your supplies from? I have a TON of websites saved and I usally add more each day. Thanks for all of your help. Im super excited to get this venture going. Baking is so much fun and is very relaxing.

11 replies
Joybeth Posted 8 May 2010 , 2:28pm
post #2 of 12

I LOVE my kitchen aid mixer! I have been doing cakes for three years and I am still on my first mixer! I bought it used at an auction. This mixer is well over 10 yrs old...(cooky green color too...lol) it works fantastic. I know people have had problems with the newer ones but I love mine!!!

Spuddysmom Posted 8 May 2010 , 2:31pm
post #3 of 12

Just starting out your hobby? Gotta have a Kitchen Aid. Global Sugar Art has excellent customer service and a great place to "start dreaming", sometimes a little pricey for me though.

tastyart Posted 8 May 2010 , 2:43pm
post #4 of 12

I also have a kitchenaid and love it. I have the big 6qt beast and use it all the time. My husband teases me about dimming the neighborhood lights when I use it icon_biggrin.gif Another tool that I use on EVERY cake is a turntable.

The_Sugar_Fairy Posted 8 May 2010 , 2:50pm
post #5 of 12

Love my KitchenAid mixer! It reaches every part of the bowl which is awesome!

jenmat Posted 8 May 2010 , 2:54pm
post #6 of 12