I'm A Newbie!

Decorating By kacic88 Updated 7 May 2010 , 10:28pm by ChoueiriCakeCo

kacic88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kacic88 Posted 7 May 2010 , 12:38am
post #1 of 14

Hey guys! I'm a newbie cake decorator. My cousin has just asked me to make a cake for her 16th birthday. She is wanting me to replicate a cake from the show Cake Boss. I hope someone has maybe seen the episode where Buddy makes a life sized car (no, she is not wanting that one icon_biggrin.gif thank the Lord), but while he is making the car cake, Mauro is making a cake at the bakery for a fashion designer and this is the one she wants. This cake has lace, keys, and jewels...all which I do not know how to make on it. Are there molds for such things? I found a mold for the pearls that go on the cake, but that is it. The party is the first week in June, so, I am stressing already. If anyone can, please help icon_smile.gif

13 replies
LisaR64 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LisaR64 Posted 7 May 2010 , 12:44am
post #2 of 14

Kacic88, you can get lace molds form www.globalsugarart.com, or sometimes I just buy a strip of lace from the fabric store, set it on my fondant and roll my rolling pin over it to imprint the fondant. Not sure if there is a mold out there for keys, but you can try googling "key molds"

miasuzzette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miasuzzette Posted 7 May 2010 , 12:58am
post #3 of 14

icon_biggrin.gif Welcome to CC Family, I have been taught by some people here. All I do is ask question. You have Join the Addictive Family. Which is fun.. Good luck on the Cake and many more Cakes thumbs_up.gif

cabecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cabecakes Posted 7 May 2010 , 1:15am
post #4 of 14