Using The Dit Products

Decorating By victoryfarm Updated 6 May 2010 , 6:09pm by victoryfarm

victoryfarm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
victoryfarm Posted 6 May 2010 , 4:48am
post #1 of 3

Hi all-

I'm new to mold-making, but headed in this direction a few years back, and just never had the time to follow through. From that time period I have some supplies I bought, including something called GLOSS-DIT. Now I can't remember exactly what that was for, and I don't see it listed among the DIT products anymore.

Can anyone tell me what it did - is it the equivalent of either RELEASE-DIT OR SEAL-DIT?

Also, I have several wooden molds that I'd like to copy, for various reasons. Some I want to use with papercasting and don't want to use the wooden molds, as they'd get pretty well soaked (I've done a lot of papercasting over the years, so I know this), and that will affect the life of the molds. Others are antique molds, and I'd rather copy them and use the copies and not risk damaging the originals.

I know I'll need to seal them first, before using a silicone casting material. If I seal them with SEAL-DIT, will it damage the original? I generally use mineral oil on my molds, to keep them from drying out. Will this have any effect on the SEAL-DIT or the silicone (although the silicone shouldn't be an issue if I've properly sealed them first, of course).

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Mary

2 replies
MYOM-Dominic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MYOM-Dominic Posted 6 May 2010 , 3:53pm
post #2 of 3

Hi Victoryfarm - Gloss dit was a material I came up with to add gloss to an object before mold making. I stopped supplying it because everyone would first put on seal dit then gloss dit and it would never hold to the piece once seal dit was applied.