Whats The Smallest Topsy Turvy Cake You've Made?

Decorating By confectionsofahousewife Updated 7 May 2010 , 6:22pm by lissyUK

confectionsofahousewife Posted 6 May 2010 , 1:29am
post #1 of 13

I am making a birthday cake for a friend next week and she wants two tiers (even though there will be leftovers) and I thought I might try a topsy turvy. I have never tried one before and she has no stipulations except that the icing be buttercream and hot pink. I don't want to make a super huge cake because that's just excessive. I read a tutorial on here and think I will use the method where you bake three layers for each tier in graduated sizes and was thinking that the top tier would consist of 4-5-6 and the bottom tier 6-7-8. Is the top tier too small? Am I going to have issues? Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!

12 replies
confectionsofahousewife Posted 6 May 2010 , 12:14pm
post #2 of 13

No one? I'll just have to wing it!

labrat Posted 6 May 2010 , 12:20pm
post #3 of 13

I have used a jumbo muffin for the top tier - I think it was a 3" bottom, 3.5" at the top...the second tier was a 5" cake before carving.

all4cake Posted 6 May 2010 , 12:39pm
post #4 of 13

no, you shouldn't have issues due to using those sizes.

I've used a 7 tapered, 6 tapered, and 5 tapered(that one was a little tricky).

I don't use the graduated layers to assemble...gives me more control over the tapering (IMMHO)...

in buttercream too

katies_cakes Posted 6 May 2010 , 1:06pm
post #5 of 13

i have done a two tier topsy (in my photos the mario one) i used the different sized layers as you want to. mine was 4, 5, 6 (top) and 6, 7, 8 (bottom) i had a few problems with carving the top tier as the bottom of it was only4" but i managed it in the end! just ensure you use a dense cake recipe! HTH

jewels710 Posted 6 May 2010 , 1:27pm
post #6 of 13

If the amount of cake you'll end up with is an issue, why not do one of the layers with a cake dummy? Just a thought.