Cake Order For Friday??!

Decorating By mrsc808 Updated 5 May 2010 , 8:36am by mrsc808

mrsc808 Posted 5 May 2010 , 6:28am
post #1 of 6

Let me start by saying that I am a novice. Teaching myself and I just started a few months ago and I am going slowly. I make cakes and my husband takes them to his customer's office and they get to eat everything.

My hubs calls me at noon today to tell me that one of the people in the office wants a cake for this Friday, and he already said I'd do it. First I want to scream. My FT job is super busy for the next 2 weeks but he says she wants that cake that I just did. Fine. I can do that.
I email her to clarify (and also to explain that I use premium ingredients so my cost may be more than she expects - to give both of us an out,) and now she wants 2 tiers, in blue, with an Alice in Wonderland theme. Um, WHAT??? icon_eek.gif
Oh, and she needs the cake on Friday and the party is at 6. In the opposite direction that I live in, heading into weekend traffic where, on a good day, it will take 45 minutes to get to.
You've got to be kidding me. I don't think I can do this.

5 replies
SpecialtyCakesbyKelli Posted 5 May 2010 , 6:58am
post #2 of 6

Can you bake on Wednesday, fill and crumb coat, then that will give you Thursday to decorate? I would make her pick the cake up or meet you half way at least.

mrsc808 Posted 5 May 2010 , 7:20am
post #3 of 6

I'll email her again. Maybe she'll balk at the price? Unless I'm using the cake matrix wrong, which I probably am, a square 6 & 8" tier, using my recipe and costs (all scratch), should run $120. Higher cost of shopping in Hawaii will get you every time and while my husband may know her, it's not very well and I sure don't know her so I don't she qualifies for any sort of discount.

SpecialtyCakesbyKelli Posted 5 May 2010 , 7:59am
post #4 of 6