Pricing For Cakes

Decorating By MissKris Updated 4 May 2010 , 5:28am by JanH

MissKris Posted 3 May 2010 , 4:18pm
post #1 of 7

Hello everyone,

I am new to Cake Central and to cake decorating. I am currently taking the Wilton cake decorating courses and just started course 2. I have been practicing making cakes and cupcakes for friends and for my hubby to take to work. I have my first request for a cake and don't know a thing about pricing cakes. The request is for an 8" square cake. It is on the Wilton site (Vintage Celebration cake, with vines and grapes). Seeking anyone's suggestions about pricing for this cake. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
Thank you! icon_smile.gif

6 replies
makeminepink Posted 3 May 2010 , 4:40pm
post #2 of 7

Hi! Welcome to CakeCentral!!!! Let me tell you what I've observed when asking a pricing question. Many will ask if you will be doing this out of your home. Does your state allow that? Then they will tell you that you need to add up the cost of your ingredients and decide what you want to make per hour. Don't forget all the time you spend shopping, cleaning, etc. It's not an easy process and something I still struggle with myself. Some people will say that it doesn't matter where you live, but that's simply not true. You can charge like someone in DC if you live in a tiny town, but you may not have much business! icon_smile.gif It's just not an easy question to answer-- too many variables! Having said all that--- best wishes! CakeCentral is WONDERFUL!

MissKris Posted 3 May 2010 , 7:18pm
post #3 of 7

Hello makeminepink,