Frosting With Whipped Cream

Decorating By floral1210 Updated 10 May 2010 , 1:15pm by floral1210

floral1210 Posted 3 May 2010 , 2:37pm
post #1 of 14

I am just a "baker for the friends", and a friend asked me to do her grandson's First Communion Cake. However, he wishes to have Whipped Cream frosting. I have only ever worked with buttercream, and was planning to do a FBCT for the top of the cake. Can I pipe borders with whipped cream if I add stabilizer to it? Can I still use a FBCT on the whipped cream? Any thoughts/suggestions would be welcome. And please remember...my skills are self-taught and very limited! LOL

13 replies
floral1210 Posted 3 May 2010 , 3:36pm
post #2 of 14

Any thoughts or ideas?

cake-angel Posted 3 May 2010 , 3:51pm
post #3 of 14

stabilized whipped cream is still very soft and would squish under the weight of a buttercream transfer. You would do better to use chocolate or candy melts to make a transfer. You can pipe simple decorations with whipped cream like borders, outlines and stars.

floral1210 Posted 3 May 2010 , 7:44pm
post #4 of 14

Thanks for the info. Does anyone have any ideas for decorating it? I was going to try to do a stained glass church window on the cake. Would I be able to tint the whipped cream itself to use for that, or will that water it down a bit too much? I do use the Americolor gels.

de_montsoreau Posted 3 May 2010 , 9:04pm
post #5 of 14

You can stabilize the whipped cream with gelatine and it should then stand a FBCT after it has been chilled enough. But is is still tricky, as the gelatine will not leave you much time to smooth out the cream. Also, of course, the finish will not be very smooth. HTH

floral1210 Posted 7 May 2010 , 4:36pm
post #6 of 14