Fondant Mats - Are They Worth It?

Decorating By Byron Updated 29 Sep 2014 , 1:26am by Krypto

Byron Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Byron Posted 3 May 2010 , 2:06am
post #1 of 22

I am new to fondant icing, only used it once previously and used tools I could find arround the house.

This time, as i am planning to use it more I decided to buy some tools, but then added up the cost icon_eek.gif . So now I am trying to see what I really need. I only play with cakes for family and friends for birthdays, about 12 a year but I like to have the right tools.

So my question is: Are fondant mats at $35+ ( i live in canada so costs can sometimes be different as well as shipping) really worth the cost, or can I just use my kitchen work surface.

21 replies
Tracy7953 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tracy7953 Posted 3 May 2010 , 2:14am
post #2 of 22

I have used the mats in the past and personally find them to be a pain. They work fine but add an extra step to the cleanup that I just don't need.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 3 May 2010 , 2:15am
post #3 of 22

I use a piece of thick clear vinyl (the kind for putting over a tablecloth) from the fabric store. It costs about $3 a yard, and one yard is enough for a couple good-sized mats. It's easier to work on than my silicone mats. It's so easy to clean when you're done that I keep a piece out permanently on my work counter, to make cleanup easier when I make bread, tortillas, cookies, etc. If you want to store it you have to roll it up, because it gets permanent creases if it's folded.

CakeFaerieK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeFaerieK Posted 3 May 2010 , 2:24am
post #4 of 22

I have a small fondant mat and it curls like crazy so it stays in the box!