Ge Monogram 48" Dual Fuel Professional Range

Decorating By MalibuBakinBarbie Updated 6 May 2010 , 3:33am by Lorieann55

MalibuBakinBarbie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MalibuBakinBarbie Posted 3 May 2010 , 12:11am
post #1 of 5

Hi Everyone!

I am wondering if any of you have this range? Just to give you background, I have been baking with a Jenn-Air electric oven for almost the past 10 years. I am in the market for a new range and see that GE Monogram advertises that the above model has two ovens that are "European reverse-air convection", and that each oven has 6 heating elements "to provide superb baking results." I am not familiar with this; although my DH loves convection. With regards to cake baking, does anyone know if this will provide consistent baking results? I need my cakes to come out evenly baked, and this is a huge investment. icon_surprised.gif

I researched on line and could only find one single comment from someone who said that her oven heats hotter on the rear right side. The GE tech told her nothing could be done and to make sure to rotate her pans. I don't rotate my pans now. I put them in the oven and wait until they're done. Never had a problem. I am considering this unit for many reasons and painstakingly designed the kitchen to accomodate this 48" range with warming hood. I considered the other notable high end brands, like Viking, Wolf, DCS and Dacor. However, I find that I really liked the GE. But with respect to the oven usage and my cake baking (when the opportunity is fortunate enough to arise!), I want this to be easier for me, not more cumbersome.

I sincerely appreciate and respect any feedback from the CC community. You may PM if you wish, too.

Thank you for reading & have a wonderful week! icon_smile.gif

4 replies
MalibuBakinBarbie Posted 3 May 2010 , 10:43pm
post #2 of 5