Ganache Experts

Baking By bubblywhitewine Updated 3 May 2010 , 10:03pm by bubblywhitewine

bubblywhitewine Posted 1 May 2010 , 2:03pm
post #1 of 10

I've never made ganache before but I want to try it on my cake this weekend. Two questions:
1. Can you use half and half cream or does it have to be heavy whipping cream? I want to spread / pipe it.
2. I have candy coat chocolate - can I use that for the chocolate? I also have unsweetened chocolate. If not what type of chocolate do you use and where is the best / cheapest place to buy it?
Your expertise would be greatly appreciated as I don't want to waste money on trial and error!!

9 replies
ibmoser Posted 1 May 2010 , 2:17pm
post #2 of 10

I'm no expert, but I'll tell you my experience while we wait for the trained chefs to wake up icon_lol.gif You should use heavy cream. I have read that you can make ganache from candy melts using the exact same ratios, but I have never tried that. I have used unsweetened chocolate for ganache. I used 1 tablespoon of sugar per one ounce of unsweetened chocolate for dark chocolate ganache. The joy of baking website recommends one tablespoon per half-ounce of unsweetened, but that was too much for me (I like really daaaaaark chocolate). You can check out a terrific substitution list on that site. I add the sugar to the heated cream and stir well before pouring over the chopped chocolate.

minicuppie Posted 1 May 2010 , 2:17pm
post #3 of 10

I suppose you could use all those less expensive chocolates, altho the result will probably be a bit hard and waxy feeling in the mouth. I always think of ganache as a luxury food and treat it accordingly. You can really feel and taste the difference when you allow it to slowly melt on your tongue.

bubblywhitewine Posted 1 May 2010 , 3:00pm
post #4 of 10

Thanks for the advise. Can anyone tell me where's the best place to buy chocolate in bulk form??

Loucinda Posted 1 May 2010 , 5:07pm
post #5 of 10