Fresh Daisies

Decorating By yvonneeudy Updated 7 May 2010 , 12:36pm by Mug-a-Bug

yvonneeudy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yvonneeudy Posted 28 Apr 2010 , 4:00pm
post #1 of 15

I have a customer that wants fresh daisies to cascade down the front of her wedding cake and small daisies placed around the base of each layer. This is my first time with fresh flowers, do I need to do something special? The wedding is at 3pm and I don't want to set up too early and the flowers wilt. I don't know if I should purchase those little water bottle picks? icon_confused.gificon_confused.gificon_confused.gif

14 replies
rltmeng Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rltmeng Posted 28 Apr 2010 , 4:26pm
post #2 of 15

Here is a link to a website that lists flower toxicity. Daisies are listed as midly toxic, not sure if any other members have advice on how to put them on safely or wether they should be used or not. http://www.blueirissanctuary.fatcow.com/id181.htm

HTH Lisa

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 28 Apr 2010 , 5:09pm
post #3 of 15

Daisy's are one flower that you can make pretty easily in gumpaste - I love making them! Here is a pic of the ones I make:
LL

yvonneeudy Posted 28 Apr 2010 , 7:46pm
post #4 of 15

Your daisy is very pretty, I just do not have the daisy cutter? One of those things I haven't gotten around to buying yet. I tried the link for the toxicity on flowers but I couldn't get to it? Maybe it moved. Thank you so much.

Mug-a-Bug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mug-a-Bug Posted 29 Apr 2010 , 12:13pm
post #5 of 15