Second Cake Attempt, Uneven Layers, Bump, And Bubbly

Decorating By Alexrn Updated 29 Apr 2010 , 4:16am by Debi2

Alexrn Posted 26 Apr 2010 , 2:43am
post #1 of 13

I am brand new to the world of cakes (have always enjoyed baking them, but new to decorating) so excuse me if I am asking sily questions. My first cake I did I used cake pans I had (which I realize now arent the appropriate ones for making a cake that is even on all sides), and this time I bought some wilton 8" rounds from walmart.

My cakes came out with the dome/poof on top and I when I tried to level them out with a serated knife I just could not get them even, and I noticed the cake inside had tons of holes. I did OK suprisingly with the crumb icing, but still could not manage to get the cake looking even or the edges crisp with my thicker layer of buttercream (I used the viva method). I was planning to try out some fondant but am worried it will just be looking so uneven and horrible I wonder if I shoud try again. Should I have frozen my cakes some and made a better attempt at carving/shaving to get an even/smooth cake? Can you build up the edges at all with the buttercream? I am so lost!

Thanks in advance to anyone who has read this entire message, I appreciate any input!

12 replies
NerdyGirl Posted 26 Apr 2010 , 2:53am
post #2 of 13

I'm new too! I bought a cake leveler (Wilton brand) to level my cakes. I wouldn't even dare try it with a knife.

As for evening out the frosting, I'd be terrible at explaining it (plus, I'm still working on it myself!). My teacher mentioned that it's all in how you hold the spatula.

mbark Posted 26 Apr 2010 , 3:07am
post #3 of 13

Practicing will certainly help with leveling icing, it just takes time to get the hang of it. One thing that helps me is to hold the spatula stationary against the side of the cake to ice it & turn the turn-table so it's even. Same thing for the top.