What Would You Charge?

Decorating By JohnnyCakes1966 Updated 22 Apr 2010 , 3:27pm by TexasSugar

JohnnyCakes1966 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JohnnyCakes1966 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 1:36pm
post #1 of 6

What would you charge for a 6" round chocolate cake, bottom layer covered with raspberry mascarpone cream, 2nd layer with chocolate buttercream, 3rd layer with more raspberry mascarpone cream, then the whole cake covered with chocolate buttercream and garnished with fresh raspberries?

5 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 2:42pm
post #2 of 6

How much do the ingredients cost to make the cake? How long will it take you to make the whole thing? How much profit do you want?

Personally I won't do a 6in unless it is attached to a bigger cake. The smallest single tier I make is an 8in.

JohnnyCakes1966 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 2:58pm
post #3 of 6

TexasSugar - I know where you're coming from regarding the smaller cake, but I'm new in the area and trying to get my business going here, so unfortunately I'm at the stage of taking what I can get. icon_cry.gif I know what I would have charged in my previous business/area, but....well....I guess I'm asking because a "gourmet" cake shop here prices their 6" round at $39.95. No fancy decorations, just a basic filled cake. That seems a bit high to me, but maybe not for this area. So I'm wondering what you all charge for your 6" rounds.

online_annie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
online_annie Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 3:08pm
post #4 of 6