Pricing On Very First Cake Order!

Decorating By LadyinaRedApron Updated 22 Apr 2010 , 4:51pm by LadyinaRedApron

LadyinaRedApron Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LadyinaRedApron Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 5:20am
post #1 of 9

I'm a newbie and just got asked to do my first cake for a fee! Yay! How do I figure out the price to give my customer? It's a graduation cake, 2 tier, covered in fondant. I'll probably use a 10 inch round and a 6 inch round. Do you just price the supplies then add a few bucks? Do you charge per serving?
I need to give her a price soon so ANY help is appreciated! TIA!

8 replies
lilyankee5688 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilyankee5688 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 5:43am
post #2 of 9

fyi. legally you can not sell cakes unless you have a license/insurance etc.. you can get in trouble if your caught or if someone gets sick form your cakes. not that DHEC is really out looking for illegally cake selling..

but people charge from $1-$3 per serving.. just depends on what the market is like in your area..

ladyk333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyk333 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 5:57am
post #3 of 9