I Don't Believe It! They Don't Like Hi-Ratio

Decorating By AKS Updated 22 Apr 2010 , 12:23pm by AKS

AKS Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 12:55am
post #1 of 10

shortening!!! My mother and both kids told me, separately, with no one else around, that they prefer my old icing to my new icing. Now I am a hobbyist and most of my cakes are for them and my/their friends. The only thing I did differently was substitute the hi-ratio shortening for store brand. THAT WAS THE ONLY THING!! I went to GFS and gave them the elusive code number that Jan H so generously supplied, carried in the 50 lb block by myself, broke it down into 1 1/2 lb tupperware pieces and found room in our downstairs freezer for them. Not only that, I had the pleasure of paying the (comparatively) expensive cost of the hi-ratio to ensure better-tasting icing-AND THEY DON'T LIKE IT!!!! icon_mad.gif Ugh! I guess they're going to have to like at least 44 lbs of it, because that's what I got, and that's what mama's usin'!

9 replies
leah_s Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 1:06am
post #2 of 10

Hmmmm . . .I've never noticed that hi ratio had any taste at all.

tiggy2 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 1:11am
post #3 of 10

So they like the grease on the roof of their mouth............strange.

mygirlssweet Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 1:21am
post #4 of 10

I must be strange then....I don't like hi-ratio either.

Ruth0209 Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 1:35am
post #5 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leah_s

Hmmmm . . .I've never noticed that hi ratio had any taste at all.

You're right. It shouldn't have any taste at all. The only time mine tasted like anything, it was a sweet taste because it was rancid.

I love how creamy it makes my buttercream without the nasty, greasy coating on the roof on my mouth. I love the stuff.

Did your family say what they didn't like?

FlourPots Posted 22 Apr 2010 , 1:40am
post #6 of 10