Imbc And Refrigeration

Decorating By frostie Updated 4 Aug 2013 , 1:13am by BatterUpCake

frostie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
frostie Posted 21 Apr 2010 , 2:34am
post #1 of 12

I have an order for a 50th anniversary cake in July. She has requested Italian Meringue Buttercream. I have never worked with this before. So this afternoon I made a practice batch. It turned out good, I love the flavor and can see how nice it will spread on a cake, but I am concerned about how long she can keep it unrefrigerated at the reception, with the real egg whites and the butter in it. How long can this frosting be kept out of the refrigerator?

11 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 21 Apr 2010 , 2:40am
post #2 of 12

According to ServSafe guidelines a product can be kept out of the refrigerator for a total of 4 hours. The clock starts ticking the minute it leaves the fridge. If it is kept out of the fridge for the entire 4 hour block, then any left overs must be discarded as they are no longer deemed safe to eat.

Lita829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lita829 Posted 21 Apr 2010 , 2:47am
post #3 of 12

I haven't made IMBC in a while but I'll add my two cents anyway. I've read conflicting info about this. Some sources say to keep it refrigerated but some also say that its ok since the egg whites are essentially "cooked" by the sugar syrup. Is the reception going to be outside? If it is...I'd keep it refrigerated as long as possible until serving time. If not...I think it should be ok.

I made a cake using SMBC (I meant to write SMBC) not too long ago and ate off it for 4 days at room temp and it was fine. NOT that I am recommending that but I think the IMBC should be fine for sitting out indoors on the day it will be served.

HTH

crumbcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crumbcake Posted 21 Apr 2010 , 2:47am
post #4 of 12

Does that rule apply if you use the egg whites in the carton from the grocery stores, they are pasteurized.