Contract Wording (Not Bakery, But Please Help Anyway!)

Lounge By emiyeric Updated 27 Apr 2010 , 5:51am by johnson6ofus

emiyeric Posted 20 Apr 2010 , 10:50pm
post #1 of 7

Sorry to be posting a non-cake question, but I was hoping that by putting it in the business section, I could tap some of you wonderful business-savvy people.
I am a hobby baker, no business involved. But my husband is an independent consultant with his own marketing company. In his contracts, he stipulates payments for half upfront, and the other half upon completion of his projects. However, lately (big surprise!), with the economy being the way it is, people have been delaying giving my husband the final content for some of the projects (Web sites, flyers, posters, whatever). His design itself is done, but since he can't insert the final content they have to deliver (the menu, or the rates or whatever small detail he can't provide himself), the product is not considered finalized. So these people have actually been going for months without paying him, because they've been too lazy to get their information to him so he can finish it. In the meantime, he's working his butt off meeting all their deadlines, and not getting paid.
Anyhow! I immediately thought of you guys ... how would you recommend he word his contract to stipulate that payments must be made (maybe by 30 days of initiation of the project, regardless of completion? Or within 30 days, if the client has not submitted all materials necessary but all the designer's work has otherwise been completed?) ... I know it's not cakes, but surely there must be somebody with some advice?

Thanks, guys! Any help would be much appreciated!

6 replies
HowCoolGomo1 Posted 21 Apr 2010 , 12:14am
post #2 of 7

I don't know if this will help or not.