Fondant Help!

Decorating By ambermarie Updated 2 May 2010 , 3:25pm by ambermarie

ambermarie Posted 20 Apr 2010 , 8:57pm
post #1 of 11

Hi Everyone,

I am new to cake decorating and I'm wondering what type of fondant everyone would recommend. I have heard the Wilton brand tastes terrible so I've ruled that one out. I've tried the Satin Ice brand for my very first fondant covered cake (in my pics section - tried attaching below and it won't work) and, while it came out nice for my first try, I noticed it got kind of dry and looked almost like elephant skin. You can see where I had a hard time with cracking and smoothing the corners in the pic. Also, I had to leave it out in the car overnight (it was winter and the cake was too big for my fridge) and the next morning I noticed a crack down the middle where the two cakes met ( I had to put two 9x13's together to make the long shape of a keyboard). I'm thinking maybe I didn't roll the fondant thin enough.

I've just recently heard of Fondarific and Fondx and was wondering what everyone thought of that. I will be making a couple of cakes in May and June in NY, so I would like it to stand up somewhat to heat.

Any tips and tricks anyone can give me in working with fondant and reviews on different types of fondant would be VERY helpful and VERY much appreciated!

10 replies
catlharper Posted 20 Apr 2010 , 9:05pm
post #2 of 11

Rule of thumb is: if it's cracking add more shortening, if it's sticky add more powdered sugar. Sounds like you didn't add enough shortening into the fondant you bought. Working with fondant is an "on the job training" sort of thing....the more you work with it the more you learn it's in's and out's and how to correct it. Humidity and heat won't be your friends and patience is a virtue when working with it...but the result is well worth the work.

dguerrant Posted 20 Apr 2010 , 10:43pm
post #3 of 11