How To Do This Teddy Cake??? Any Ideas Please?

Decorating By rsj23 Updated 21 Apr 2010 , 7:52am by rsj23

rsj23 Posted 20 Apr 2010 , 8:52am
post #1 of 14

Hi, I am VERY new to cake decorating but i've been asked to do the cake under this link:
http://www.elitecakedesigns.com.au/sleeping_teddy_cake.html#christeningcake1
Can someone please give me very brief step by step instruction how to tackle this? the teddy on top is to be made from cake as well. its only for about 60 people coffee serves.
Im thinking obviously ice the base cake first, then carve the head and body and ice the pieces separately? my worry is that the teddy might sink into the cake? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

13 replies
pattycakesnj Posted 20 Apr 2010 , 9:47am
post #2 of 14

It doesn't look like the teddy is cake, probably gumpaste/fondant mix. That is how I would make it. It will probably be next to impossible to make the teddy out of cake that small.

LateBloomer Posted 20 Apr 2010 , 10:35am
post #3 of 14

I agree with pattycakes. Use flowerpaste, make the little features, stick with thinned flowerpaste or glue. Use spaghetti to attach the head. For the ears make 2 circles put them on the face and push down with a fluting tool or even a pen. This makes the indent. Attach the stars to florist wire by pushing the wire into them. You can put glue or eggwhite on the wire. Put them into drinking straws or sucker sticks and instert into the cake. Good luck!

iamcakin Posted 20 Apr 2010 , 10:53am
post #4 of 14

Hi and welcome to CC!

This tutorial may be helpful. Although it isn't exactly what you are looking for it may get you started!

http://cakecentral.com/articles/136/how-to-make-a-tiny-teddy-bear

rsj23 Posted 20 Apr 2010 , 9:59pm
post #5 of 14

Thank you all for your helpful advice!