Help!! Unhappy Customer....how Do I Respond??

Business By YoCake Updated 21 Apr 2010 , 5:39am by mamawrobin

YoCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
YoCake Posted 20 Apr 2010 , 12:41am
post #1 of 35

I just received an email complaint from a customer, two weeks AFTER the wedding. I am at a loss, because I quite frankly, don't believe her. This is what it said:

"We recently purchased a wedding cake (April 10) and just wanted to let you know that we were disappointed. Although it looked very pretty, it was dry and the frosting did not taste like buttercream.

We saved the top tier for ourselves and it ended up in the trash because it was also extremely dry. As a baker myself, I understand that this can happen but it should not when I am hiring a professional."

I've been doing cakes for 6 years, and NEVER had a complaint that my cake was dry. I've always received many compliments on how moist they are (and I do use butter and whole milk in all my products). I go as far as to cover each cake with wax paper, as it is cooling so that the moisture stays with the cake.

I own a shop, and I am quite busy.....everyone is always satisfied with their cake flavors. If ever we were to receive a complaint, it usually centers on a mistake (such as a wrong color/size, etc). I realize that all businesses have complaints... I do whatever I can to avoid them, but they are inevitable.

Our buttercream is made with butter, powered sugar, pure bourban vanilla, and milk....it is a sweet buttercream, but tastes great and holds up to the decorating.

This is a first....please help!! If giving any type of compensation, I usually ask the client to bring in the portion of the cake so that I can assess what went wrong, but she put it in the trash. I am having a hard time believing her! We did not vary our buttercream or cake recipes since her tasting.