Ok so i see alot of recipe's that require gelatin and i cant eat it due to religious beliefs. So i was wondering if anyone new of any substitutes i can use for gelatin.
I do use the kosher jello sometimes for like strawberry cake but i doubt i can use that kind of gelatin for chocolate mousse or gum paste etc....
Please if you have any ideas please let me know thanks alot!!!!
I'm not sure all gelatin works the same, but I know there is a fish gelatin you can get. (I think you could order that online as a powder). Can you eat that?
I think you can substitute gelatin with different things, depending on the recipes. I make my fondant with a fruit pectin, but only one brand has worked for me. There is also agar agar, which is a thickening agent, but they don't work exactly like gelatin. So again, it depends what you need it for. HTH
You may want to check around. We have a store here in Texas, HEB that carries kosher unflavored gelatin. It is their own brand and I use it as well for all of my fondant.
You may want to look at some vegan websites and see if they have suggestions.
hi I use a kosher beef gelatin by great lakes you can get on www.amazon.com or www.GreatLakesGelatin.com
Thanks guys i just got into this cake thing so i have no idea what to do sometimes. hahaha. but i will definately look into the stuff listed. One more question, so can i use the unflavered kosher jello gelatin?
Have you tried agar agar? It is seaweed derived.
for me agar -agar didn't work for fondant . the unflavered gelatin I did buy but did not use it because I found greatlakes I use mff recipes and it turned out great. I did buy kosher mm 's they are very costly. if unsure try the unflavered gelatin. the only way is to try it.