See Through Fondant

Decorating By theonlynameleft Updated 19 Apr 2010 , 12:43pm by Mug-a-Bug

theonlynameleft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
theonlynameleft Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 12:54am
post #1 of 10

Can you please help me? I am a novice cake decorator and found that with my last cake (which was the first one I had done with white fondant) that when applied to the cake I could still see the cake underneath ie; the layers etc. It was chocolate mud cake with buttercream filling, I smoothed buttercream all over and then put fondant over top but found that when I put enough buttercream icing on so that the cake itself wasn't visible then it was too much buttercream and I then found it hard to get the fondant smooth over the top. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks icon_smile.gif

9 replies
SpecialtyCakesbyKelli Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SpecialtyCakesbyKelli Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 1:18am
post #2 of 10

Sounds like you may be rolling your fondant too thin. Do you have a rolling pin with the guides? That really helps get it the right thickness.......if you can get used to using it. I personally use a regular pin, but the guides do help.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 3:52am
post #3 of 10

You're rolling your fondant too thin. Try rolling it a little thicker next time and see if this doesn't help.

Jeep_girl816 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeep_girl816 Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 3:54am
post #4 of 10

You might try using a white chocolate ganache (3parts white choc, the real stuff not candy melts or morsels to 1 part cream) it firms up nice and hard and is a great base for fondant.

Faffy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Faffy Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 3:55am
post #5 of 10

Sorry to budge but what is the right thickness for fondant???

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 4:05am
post #6 of 10

Here's a thread you might find helpful: